Grown Ups

Don’t tell me to wait till I grow up.
I have seen grown ups.
They are all lost.

They are all wishing they hadn’t waited.
They are all too bald to want new things.
They are all too fond of yesterdays
And all too weary of tomorrows.

I have seen grown ups who smile
At memories of sneaking into cinemas
And writing letters that didn’t change the world.
Because those are the only memories they have
That are worth moving facial muscles for.

I have seen grown ups who used to pray
To the Master who’d give them good jobs
And money to pay for their good children.
But that’s all they prayed for.
And that’s all they got.

I have seen grown ups who stare at walls
Not lost in some worthful thought
But because someone spilled ink on their
Years of hard work to pay off loans
To build those walls.

I have seen grown ups who
Make me not want to grow up.
And maybe I won’t.

So don’t you dare tell me to wait
Till I grow up.
I can never grow up
If all I do is wait.

One response to “Grown Ups

  1. bilalsidiki

    Beautifully Written *enough said*, i didn’t read it before.

    I am not really fond of Love Poetry and stuff, but this one really moved me. Quite the truth to be honest. May we grow up to have no Regrets and be mature enough to Smile at our decisions. Ameen 🙂

Leave a Reply

